Saturday, June 25, 2016

9 to get DENR awards for environmental care

LEGAZPI CITY, June 24 (PNA) -- Nine individuals, corporations and private and government entities will receive the 16th Saringaya awards of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) on June 27 at the Casablanca Suites, Legazpi City.

The awardees are Energy Development Corp.'s Bacon-Manito Geothermal Project, Aboitiz Power Renewables Inc. and Tiwi Facility of the Philippine Geothermal Production Co. Inc. for private entities; the local government units of Naga City and Sorsogon Environment and Natural Resources Office; Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges for academe; TAO-KALIKASAN Foundation of the Philippines Inc. for non-government organization; and Joshua B. Guinto and Abner B. Avisola for the individual category.

All awardees underwent a series of screenings and evaluations and were found to have significant programs and projects that have significant positive impact on the environment.

Each will receive a trophy that has a design that symbolizes the origin of the award.

The Saringaya awards, Saringaya is Bicol term for bountiful, started in 2000 and continued up to the present to encourage more individuals and entities to promote environmental conservation and protection.

The occasion will be led by incoming Regional Director Crisma Paje Rodriguez, niece of DENR Secretary Ramon Paje who will be the guest of honor.

Rodriguez took over engineer Gilbert Gonzalez who will be the head of the Environmental Management Bureau Central Office. (PNA) JFM/FGS/VTV/CBD