Friday, October 16, 2015

Comelec-Albay ready for last-day filers; 24 bets for provincial posts file COCs
By Nancy Ibo Mediavillo

LEGAZPI CITY, Oct. 16 (PNA) -- Lawyer Romeo G. Serrano, Commission on Elections (Comelec) Albay provincial supervisor, said their office is prepared for the rush of last-minute aspirants for various elective positions in the province who would still file their certificates of candidacy (COCs).

"If we were well prepared last Monday, we are doubly ready today, being the last day of submission of COCs, Serrano said.

He urged those have not yet filed their COCs and have scheduled the move now not to wait for the 5 p.m. deadline anymore as they might miss it if they still lack certain documents or requirements.

The Comelec official said the Comelec time is based on the Philippine Standard Time.

In this connection, Serrano said 24 aspirants for the various elective positions in the province had already submitted their COCs from Monday to Thursday.

These are former congressman Edcel C. Lagman, Liberal Party (LP); Ted Contactu PDP-Laban; and lawyer Antonio Betito, Nationalist People's Coalition (NPC), for congressman of the 3rd District.

Governor Joey Sarte Salceda, LP, and Virgilio Goyena, independent, vie for representative of the 2nd District.

Incumbent Rep. Fernando V. Gonzales (LP) and Jaime Chua, independent, have enlisted as candidates for the 3rd District.

For governor, Congressman Al Francis Bichara, Nacionalista Party (NP), and two other independent candidates have registered as candidates.

Incumbent Vice Governor Harold Imperial (LP) vies for the same position.

For provincial board members, 14 have already filed their CoCs, mostly incumbent and members of the LP.

Serrano said the submission of withdrawal of candidacy is until 5 p.m. Friday only although substitution due to withdrawal is up Dec. 10 for those who have political party affiliations.

He stressed that those involved should have party nomination.

The Comelec Albay head said the major political parties are LP, NP, NPC, UNA, PDP-Laban and others.

The official start of the campaign period for the national positions is from Feb. 9 to May 7; while for local, March 25 to May 7, 2016.(PNA) FFC/FGS/NIM/CBD